As with any third party service it’s important to understand what data is being sent to Sentry, and where relevant ensure sensitive data either never reaches the Sentry servers, or at the very least it doesn’t get stored. Our primary approach to this problem is a pessimitic view: you accidentally sent data to Sentry and you either want to remove it, or you want to ensure it doesn’t get stored.
Within your project settings you’ll find a Data Scrubber option. By default this is enabled, and we highly recommend you keep it that way. With it enabled Sentry will scrub the following:
- Values that look like they contain credit cards (using a basic regular expression)
- Keys that contain any of the following values:
- Any keys which match values that you’ve added to the list of additional fields in your Project Settings.
Additionally some SDKs will also allow you to filter data ahead of time following similar patterns.
It’s common that compliance within your company may mean that data can only be transmitted over SSL and stored in a secure manner. One common area this comes up is with email notifications. By default Sentry will send a large amount of data as part of the issue notification. In some cases this data may be source code or other user data.
To work around this problem you can enable the Enhanced Privacy setting in your organization. This can be done by visiting the organization’s dashboard, clicking Settings, and then ticking the option there. Once done parts of the system, primarily email notifications, will immediately reflect this change and begin restricting data to only basic attributes such as the issue title and description.
If you’ve accidentally sent sensitive data to the server it’s likely you’re not going to want to leave it there. There are a few things to note in removal:
- If you send it as a tagged value, removing the event is not enough. You can visit Project Settings and under Tags you’ll find a way to permanently remove any related data for a given tag.
- If you need to wipe just a single event, you’ll find the ability to bulk delete all sampled events under a rollup by visiting the rollup details page and selecting “Delete”.
- If you send sparse events to a project (potentially all of them), your only option is to remove the project and re-create it. Keep in mind this will revoke API credentials, so you likely want to do this in the reverse order.